Texas Auto Insurance Basics

Investing in the right auto insurance policy is the best way to ensure that you stay safe while on the road. However, trying to figure out how much insurance to invest in can be stressful and confusing. Keep these simple guidelines in mind to ensure that you have the right amount of protection.

In the state of Texas, you are required to carry a minimum liability amount of $30,000 for each injured person, $60,000 for each accident, and $25,000 in property damage for each accident. This coverage is known as the financial responsibility law, and is commonly written into policies as 30/60/25. While these are the minimums, keep in mind that the more coverage you invest in, the more protection you will have while on the road.

When you invest in an auto insurance policy, you will be issued a proof of insurance card that you are required to keep with you at all times while you are behind the wheel. There are various times that you can be asked to show proof of insurance including, if a police officer pulls you over, when you are renewing your registration, when you get your car inspected, if you get into an accident, or when you renew your driver’s license.

If you are found to be driving without insurance coverage, you can face heavy fines. The minimum fine for your first offense of driving without insurance can be as low as $175. The penalty can go up to a $4,000 fine and a year in jail if you have had multiple offenses and cause an accident that results in serious injury or death.

If you have any questions about your current auto insurance coverage, or are looking to invest in a new policy, contact the insurance professionals at The Schwab Agency in Colleyville, Texas.

Leave a Reply